Spirit of Dakota Award nominees announced

Staff report



Twelve exceptional South Dakota women have been nominated to be honored at the Spirit of Dakota’s 37th Anniversary Celebration and Award Banquet in Huron on Oct. 7. 

The nominees are:Julie Bell, Brookings; Juanita Delbridge, Union Center; Mary Lou Gruebele, Eureka; Lynn Hanson, Aberdeen; Jeannie Hofer, Huron; Stephanie Judson, Pierre; Kathy Larsen, Brookings; Jennifer Luper-Lark, Huron; Wally Matush, Hill City; Amanda (Nolz) Radke, Mitchell; Jamie Lee Seiner, Pierre; Judy Winegar, Wessington Springs. 

South Dakota’s premier woman’s award inspired by Dale Lamphere’s bronze, Spirit of Dakota, will be presented at the Huron Event Center beginning with an art show at 4 p.m., social 5:30 p.m. and banquet 6:30 p.m. 

The award is given to a woman who demonstrates leadership, vision, courage and strength of character; and by her example, inspires others to make a difference in their community and state. 

The honoree will be chosen by a state-wide commission of Tona Rozum, Chair, Mitchell; Julie Garreau, Eagle Butte; Jean Hunhoff, Yankton; Carol Johnson, Watertown; Julie M Johnson, Aberdeen; Suzette Kirby, Sioux Falls; First Gentleman Bryon Noem, Pierre; Jacque Sly, Rapid City; Marsha Sumpter, Kadoka; and Ginger Thomson, Brookings. 

Tickets for the banquet may be purchased at the Huron Chamber Office: (605) 352-0000 or 1-800-487-6673.



The Brandon Valley Journal


The Brandon Valley Journal
1404 E. Cedar St.
Brandon, SD 57005
(605) 582-9999

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Please Login for Premium Content