Lynx Paws

SD track & field

coaches of the year

Kurt Stukel, a 16-year boys’ track & field coach at Gregory High School, and Luke Vander Leest, an eight-year coach girls’ track & field coach at Sioux Falls Christian High School, have been named the 2024 South Dakota Track & Field Coaches of the Year for their respective divisions.

The recognition comes from the USTFCCCA. 

Stukel led the Class B Gorillas to the 2024 team title, which was highlighted by two state meet titles: Rylan Peck in the javelin, and the 1600M medley relay team.

Vander Leest, coach of the Class A Chargers, the 2024 state champions, recorded a meet record 130.5 points. The Chargers nearly swept the relays, winning titles in the 4x100, 4x200, 4x400, 4x800, and 1600-meter medley, and the 300-meter hurdles.


SDHSCA to celebrate Hall of Fame inductees,

Coaches of the Year, 

ncluding BV’s Matt Mueller

Linda DeBoer, president of the South Dakota High School Coaches Association, recently announced the names of the newest SDHSCA Hall of Fame members, 2024 Coach of the Year recipients, and other awards.

Individuals being inducted into the Hall of Fame this year are Ken Bonte, Beresford; Scott Ewald, Watertown; Roger Loecker, Huron; Rich Luther, Lennox; Joan Rachetto, Lead-Deadwood; and Charlie Sizer, Miller.

Following are the Coaches of the Year: Cheer – Eve Langerock, Harrisburg; Dance – Amanda Stoeser, Pierre; Girls soccer - Scott Mullenmeister, Mitchell; Boys’ soccer – Curt Nelson, Vermillion; Girls’ Cross Country - Jessica Larson, Potter County; Boys’ Cross Country –-Ralph Kroetch, Philip; Football - Ben Kramer, Hot Springs; Volleyball –-Jean O’Hara, Chester Area; Gymnastics - Les Coin, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Girls’ Wrestling –-David Michaud, Lakota Tech; Boys’ Wrestling - Mike Abell, Sturgis; Girls’ Basketball - Tucker Tornberg, Centerville; Boys’ Basketball - Nick Koepsel, Howard; Tennis – John Williams, Sioux Falls Christian; Boys’ Track & Field - Brad DeBeer, Deubrook Area; Girls’ Track & Field - Tyler Uecker, Burke; Softball - Laura Biagi, Chester Area; Boys’ Golf - Corey Neale, Watertown; Girls’ Golf - Adam Anderson, Chester Area; Assistant in Boys’ Sports - Jayd Schuyler, Winner; Assistant in Girls’ Sports - Matt Mueller, Brandon Valley; Middle School - Kris McCafferty, Aberdeen Central; Athletic Director - Paul Nepodal, Lead-Deadwood; Official - Bob DeBoer, Huron.

Additionally, other accolades to be presented include the Jerry Miller Distinguished Service Awards to Georgia Adolph, Flandreau; Lou Eggebraaten, Brookings; and Fred Obermeier, Clark.

The Max Hawk Award recipience is Bruce Kleinsasser, Aberdeen.

And finally, the Bryan Brewer Power of Influence Awards will be presented to Kevin Bad Wound, Rapid City; and Bob Brave Heart Sr., Pine Ridge.

The awards banquet is 1 p.m. Sunday, July 14 at the Mitchell Highland Conference Center. Tickets can be purchased online at


The Brandon Valley Journal


The Brandon Valley Journal
1404 E. Cedar St.
Brandon, SD 57005
(605) 582-9999

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Please Login for Premium Content