MAC All-Conference basketball honors announced

Staff report
Behrens sisters represent Lady Lynx on Metro All-Conference
The Behrens sisters were both selected to the 2019-20 Metro All-Conference Girls’ Basketball team.
Hannah, a 5-foot-11 senior, and Hilary, a 6-foot-0 freshman, were named to the MAC first team. Hilary is the only freshman among the 10-member roster.
O’Gorman has three players named to the first team. They are senior Emma Ronsiek, junior Isabelle Moore and sophomore Hannah Ronsiek.
Both Sioux Falls Washington and Lincoln registered two players on the Metro squad. The Warriors are represented by junior Sydni Schetnan and sophomore Ndjakalenga Mwenentanda. Selected from the Patriots are seniors Morgan Hansen and Emma Osmundson.
Roosevelt’s Tatum Kooima, a senior, is the only Rough Rider named to the first team.
Honorable mention nods were awarded to Carly Kunkel, a senior from O’G, and Macey Nielson, a senior from Roosevelt.
Trio of Lynx land Metro All-Conference honors
Two members of Brandon Valley’s state-qualifying boys’ basketball team garnered post-season accolades by being named to the 2019-20 Metro All-Conference First Team.
Senior Gavin Terhark, at 6-foot-9 center is BV’s leading rebounder, and junior Jackson Hilton, a 6-foot-4 forward, will represent the Lynx on the elite team.
Junior Joe Kolbeck, a 6-foot-0 guard, was one of four players to receive an honorable mention nod.
Sioux Falls Washington has three players on the first team roster. They are seniors Gannin Thompson and Nate Gilbertson, and junior Eli Williams.
Both Roosevelt and O’Gorman also list two on the squad. The Rough Riders are represented by juniors Tyler Feldkamp and Michael Paulson. Hailing from the Knights are seniors Akoi Akoi and Jack Cartwright.
The other three players who garnered honorable mention are Lincoln seniors Kesean Ladd and Sam Fawcett, and Roosevelt junior Jackson McCormick. 
Underclassmen represent BV on All-ESD Conference teams
A pair of Brandon Valley underclassmen student-athletes were named to the 2019-20 All-Eastern South Dakota Conference teams.
Lynx junior Jackson Hilton and Lady Lynx freshman Hilary Behrens landed the post-season accolade.
Two senior members from BV’s basketball programs also generated honorable mention laurels in Gavin Terhark and Hannah Behrens.
The complete roster for the boy’s All-ESD team includes Aberdeen Central senior Andrew Bergan and junior Reece Burckhard; Conner Geddes, a junior from Harrisburg; a trio of Huron seniors in Kobe Busch, Teegan Evers and Nathan Boehrns; Mitchell senior Caden Hinker; and Yankton’s Matthew Mors, a junior, and Cooper Cornemann, a senior.
Along with Terhark, Evan Falconer, a Watertown senior, earned honorable mention status.
Joining Hilary Behrens on the All-ESD first team are Aberdeen Central junior Abby Kopecky; Aby Phipps, a senior, and Emily Boyer, a sophomore, from the Harrisburg Tigers; senior Havyn Heinz of Huron; Mitchell junior Macy Kempf; Caytee Williams a junior from Pierre; Watertown senior Megan Fannin; and two from the Yankton Gazelles, seniors Madison Wuebben and Payton Wolfgram.
Rounding out the honorable mentions are junior Brooklyn Kusler from Aberdeen Central; Brookings senior Johanna Miller; and Harrisburg junior, Brecli Honner.


The Brandon Valley Journal


The Brandon Valley Journal
1404 E. Cedar St.
Brandon, SD 57005
(605) 582-9999

Email Us


Please Login for Premium Content