Five Lynx make All-ESD wrestling

Staff report
Five wrestlers from Brandon Valley’s 2018-19 squad landed a spot on the 2019 All-ESD Conference Wrestling Team. Twenty-nine wrestlers in all total garnered the post-season accolade.
Aberdeen Central and Pierre both placed five wrestlers on the elite team; Huron has four on the list; Brookings has three; Yankton, Harrisburg and Watertown all have two; and Mitchell has one.  
BV’s crop of wrestlers includes junior Kobi Terpstra (132 pounds), sophomore Isaac Klinkhammer (138), Jack Smith (152), 160-pound state champion Damion Schunke, a freshman, and senior Sam Krohnke (285).
The All-ESD squad also includes 24 others wrestlers: 106: Brenden Salfrank, jr., Aberdeen Central, and Tucker Bahm, soph., Yankton; 113: Kahloh Hindman, soph., Pierre; 120: Connor Klinkhammer, sr., Brookings, Hayden Shaffer, fresh., Pierre, and Ty Althoff, jr., Watertown; 126: Jacob Moore, sr., Aberdeen Central; 138: Chipper Shillingstad, sr., Huron, Jack Van Camp, jr., Pierre; 145: Cade Hinkle, jr., Pierre; 152: Tyson Lien, soph., Huron; 160: Will Jarott, sr., Aberdeen Central; TahJae Jenkins Harris, jr., Huron; 170: Ryan Meyer, sr., Harrisburg; Maguire Raske, soph., Pierre; 182: Brock Baker, sr., Aberdeen Central; Jacob Schoon, sr., Brookings; Gabe Rieger, sr., Huron; Jayden Hartford, jr., Watertown; 195: Gavin Gulbranson, soph., Harrisburg; Owen Warren, fresh., Yankton; 220: Gus Miller, jr., Brookings; Carter Max, sr., Mitchell; 285: Kaden Johnson, sr., Aberdeen Central.
The ESD team title went to Pierre, who registered an 8-0 record, followed by Mitchell at 7-1, BV at 6-2 and Watertown at 5-3.
Aberdeen Central, Brookings and Harrisburg all tied for fifth with 3-5 records. Rounding out the nine-team league are Huron in eighth at 1-7 and Yankton, 0-8.


The Brandon Valley Journal


The Brandon Valley Journal
1404 E. Cedar St.
Brandon, SD 57005
(605) 582-9999

Email Us


Please Login for Premium Content