BVHS earns superior play, ensembles at state one-act fest

Staff report
The cast of Brandon Valley High School’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” performs in the state one-act play festival Saturday, Feb. 8, at Roosevelt High School in Sioux Falls. Photo: South Dakota Public Broadcasting

Brandon Valley High School was one of 45 schools vying for awards at the state one-act play festival Friday and Saturday.
The annual event was held at O’Gorman High School Feb. 7-8 in Sioux Falls.
Brandon Valley performed a 1920s version of “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” competing in Class AA.
BV received Overall Superior Play and two Superior Ensemble Cast awards. The first was awarded to the Fairy Ensemble (Abbey Jacobsen, Ellie Erickson, Kylee Fueston, Kira VanRoekel, Hannah Frost and Kenzie Polasky), and the second went to the Henchman Ensemble (Miles Hemelstrand, Tyr Crapser, Brett VanOort, Harry Heiberger and Henry Heiberger). 
Ten BV actors also received Superior Performer accolades: Ellen Joseph, Jimmy Hoffmann, Connor Klimek, Grace Wilford, Grant Gunderson, Ty Stephany, Ben Gromer, Izzie Stone, Ethan McEachran and Olivia Kern. 
Class AA Overall Superior Play also went to Watertown (“Curse of the Mummy’s Tomb”), Aberdeen Central (“Clue the Musical”), O’Gorman (“Marvel-US”), Yankton (“Macbeth”), Pierre (“Grommet”), Spearfish (“The Least Offensive Play in the Whole Darn World”), Harrisburg (“Planet Z”), Douglas (“The Yellow Boat”) and Rapid City Central (“All for One”).
The one-act play festival is sponsored by the South Dakota High School Activities Association.
For full results and photos, visit 


The Brandon Valley Journal


The Brandon Valley Journal
1404 E. Cedar St.
Brandon, SD 57005
(605) 582-9999

Email Us


Please Login for Premium Content